2022 Sondheim Award Gala

Thank you for your support of the Sondheim Award Gala



Carol Burnett

Monday, May 16, 2022
Capital One Hall

The Gala was an exciting evening with special appearances from Randy Rainbow, tribute performances by Tony® Award winning Broadway and film stars Bernadette Peters (Broadway’s Hello Dolly), Santino Fontana (Disney’s Frozen, Broadway’s Tootsie); as well as beloved Signature artists Awa Sal Secka, Paul Scanlan, and Rachel Zampelli.

Carol Burnett

Carol Burnett is widely recognized by the public and her peers for her work for her comedic and dramatic roles on television, film, and Broadway, most notably The Carol Burnett Show. Named in 2007 by TIME magazine as one of the “100 Best Television Shows of All Time,” The Carol Burnett Show ran for 11 years, averaged 30 million viewers per week, and received 25 Emmy Awards, making it one of the most honored shows in television history.

Click here to read Carol Burnett’s full bio

In addition to honoring Carol, Signature presented Merrill and Mark Shugoll with the J. Watkins Distinguished Service Award for their incredible leadership and support of the arts through the community.

Click here to read Merrill and Mark Shugoll’s full bio


Diamond Level Sponsors
Atavis Jet
Dottie Bennett and Richard Morton

Platinum Level Sponsors
Michael and Stacie Arpey
Mike Blank
The Boeing Company
Bonnie Feld
Bradley S. Frey/J. Watkins’ Fund for Arts and Education
Celie and Tabitha Niehaus
The Ted & Mary Jo Shen Charitable Gift Fund

Gold Level Sponsors
Greg Albright and Wes Combs
John Benton and David Briggs
Chevy Chase Trust
Michael DeSantis and Patrick Baugh
Frank Guzzetta and Paul Manville
Don and Angela Irwin/J.P. Morgan
Maxine Isaacs/The Max Productions LLC
Missy Kurek
Peter and Mary Jay Michel
David Ochsman
Craig Pascal in memory of Victor Shargai
Patricia Payne and Nancy Firestone
Beth Pile
H. Mac and Michele-Anne Riley
Russ Schriefer and Nina Easton
Carl Spatz and Thomas Hesselbrock
Peter and Ann Tanous
Jeffrey Thurston and Charlie Berardesco

Silver Level Sponsors
J. Max Barger
Jeff Bell
Jean Cantrell
Veronika J. Folz
Kroff, Inc.
Louis Mazawey
Nancy and Stephen McGuire
Reinsch Pierce Family Foundation by Lola C. Reinsch
Susan C. Schwab
Maya Weil

Individual Sponsors
Patricia Alper Cohn and David I. Cohn
Cathy Bernard
Betsy Brand
Jeanne M. Broyhill and Joe Ventrone
Susan and Dixon Butler
Beth B. Buehlmann
Tim Carlton
Sue Cunningham and Howard Moore
Ashley Davis
Curtis Decker
L. William Derrow
Caroline Smith DeWaal and Ian Smith DeWaal
Sharon Eddy
Jay and Susan Finkelstein
Gary Fontaine and O’Shelia Brown
Sara Hope Franks
Marybeth and Zack Fraser
Virginia Gano
Michael Garet and Melanie Mintzer
Mary Ann Gilleece
Robert E. Hebda
Adam Henderson and Bruce Marshall
RC Howes
Rick Kasten
Ira Ludwick Salon
Tina M. Martin and Mita M. Schaffer
Howard Menaker and Patrick Gossett
Robert F. Miailovich
Beth Newburger
Jack Nix
Judith and Mary O’Brien
Wesley Pickard
John Robert Porter
Dana Rosenfeld and Eric Biel
Evelyn Sandground and Bill Perkins
Alan J. Savada and Will Stevenson
Amy Schaffer and George Faison
Debbie Shrager and Scott Ableman
Sally Simms
George and Elizabeth Stevens
Robert and Amy Stone
Donna Sutton
Timothy and Jennifer Tomlinson
Carol Trawick
Richard Underwood
Sarah Valente
Arthur Warren and Jim Pridgen
Chuck Willett
David R. Wolfe
Deborah and David Yaffe

Sponsored in part by

Amazon logo
Boeing Logo

Special Thanks

John Farr Lighting

Four Seasons logo

Air transportation for Carol Burnett sponsored by

Atavis Jet logo

*as of May 12, 2022


Signature’s annual Sondheim Award Gala honors those who have contributed to the works of Stephen Sondheim and the canon of American musical theater. The Sondheim Award Gala benefits Signature’s artistic, education, and community outreach programs.

The Gala is a festive evening that includes cocktails and hors d’oeuvres, a gourmet seated dinner, and a delicious dessert buffet. Each year, the honoree receives a special award presentation that includes tribute performances by notable Broadway and Signature artists.


The J. Watkins Distinguished Service Award honors community leaders who have made an extraordinary impact in the greater DC community through their passion and advocacy for theater and arts education. The award is made in memory of J. Watkins, a long time Signature Board Member, an important part of the Sondheim Award Gala leadership team, and a tremendous ambassador for Signature and the arts in our community.



2019 Audra McDonald

2018 John Kander

2017 Cameron Mackintosh

2016 John Weidman

2015 James Lapine

2014 Jonathan Tunick

2013 Harold “Hal” Prince

2012 Patti LuPone

2011 Bernadette Peters

2010 Angela Lansbury


2019 Congressman Don Beyer and Mrs. Megan Beyer

For more information, please contact:
571 527 1828 or events@sigtheatre.org